Department of Geography


Head of School

Professor Donald Houston Head of Department
Dr Carol Ekinsmyth Associate Head Education, Principal Lecturer
Dr Nick Pepin Associate Head of Research, Reader in Climate Science
Dr Philip Soar Associate Head of Innovation, Senior Lecturer

Academic Staff

Dr Brian Baily Senior Lecturer
Professor Timothy T Barrows Professor of Environmental Change
Dr Clare Boston Senior Lecturer
Dr Malcolm Bray Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Julia Brown Senior Lecturer in Environmental Geography
Dr Laura Cunningham Senior Lecturer in Physical Geography
Dr Caroline Day Senior Lecturer in Geography and Development
Dr Mark Hardiman Senior Lecturer
Professor Richard Healey Professor of Geography
Dr Rob Inkpen Reader in Physical Geography
Dr Harold Lovell Senior Lecturer
Dr Diana Martin Senior Lecturer
Dr Alastair Pearson Principal Lecturer
Dr Jonathan Potts Principal Lecturer
Dr Heather Rumble Senior Lecturer in Environmental Geography
Professor Humphrey Southall Professor in Historical Geography
Dr Faith Taylor Lecturer
Professor Liz Twigg Professor of Human Geography
Dr Tara Woodyer Senior Lecturer in Human Geography
Dr Sabine Wulf Reader in Environmental Change

Research Staff & PhD Students

Paula Aucott Senior Research Associate
Katherine Brailsford PhD Researcher
Chryssa Brown Recently completed MRes researcher
Jennifer Cox PhD Researcher
Matthew Currie MRes Researcher
Stuart Dick PhD researcher
Dr Craig Duncan Senior Research Fellow
Taye Olukayode Famuditi Recently completed PhD Student
Dr Paul Farres Visiting Research Fellow
Chris Falconer PhD Researcher
Michael Fisher MRes Researcher
Ritienne Gauci PhD researcher
Philipp Geng PhD Researcher
Giselle Goodwin PhD Researcher
Stephen Hare MRes Student
Catherine Hudson Lecturer in Fluvial Geomorphology & River Catchments
Nastassja Kirwan MRes Student
Lauren Knight PhD Researcher
April Moores MRes Student
Professor Derek Mottershead Visiting Research Fellow
Samuel Pitman Recently completed MRes researcher
Adrian Tear Visiting Fellow
Margarita Tsakiridou PhD Researcher
Marije Van Den Broek Recently completed PhD researcher
Cornelia Van Diepen PhD Researcher
Paul Weber PhD research student
Marie Louise Zammit PhD Student

Professional Staff

Carol Derrick Course Administrator
Sarah Gillingham Course Administrator
Sharon Jakobek Departmental Manager

Technical Staff

Paul Carter Senior GIS Technician
Linley Hastewell Lead Technician & PhD Researcher
Martin Schaefer GIS Manager