School of Earth and Environmental Sciences


Head of School

Dr Michelle Hale Head of School
Dr Nick Koor Associate Head (Innovation)
Professor Craig Storey Associate Head (Research) and Professor of Geology
Dr David Franklin Associate Dean (Academic)

Academic Staff

Dr Adil Bakir Senior Scientific Officer
Dr Philip Benson Reader in Rock Physics
Dr Michelle Bloor Environmental Sciences Programme Manager
Dr Dean Bullen Course Leader Geology
Dr Anthony Butcher Course Leader Palaeontology
Dr James Darling Senior Lecturer
Professor Gary Fones Professor of Environmental Aquatic Chemistry
Dr Mike Fowler Reader in Geochemistry
Professor Andrew Gale Emeritus Professor of Geology
Dr Andy Gibson Principal Lecturer
Dr David Giles Principal Lecturer
Professor Annette E. Götz Professor of Palaeontology
Dr Mohammad Hoque Lecturer in Hydrogeology
Dr David Loydell Reader
Professor David Martill Professor of ​Palaeobiology
Dr Nicholas Minter Senior Lecturer
Naomi Morris Teaching Fellow
Dr Catherine Mottram Lecturer
Professor Randall Parrish Professor of Isotope Geology
Stephen Penn Senior Lecturer
Dr Sarah Reynolds Lecturer in Environmental Chemistry
Dr Derek Rust Senior Lecturer
Professor Jim Smith Professor of Environmental Science
Dr Carmen Solana Course Leader Geological Hazards
Professor Rob Strachan Professor of Geology
Dr Gareth Swift Course Leader Engineering Geology & Geotechnics
Dr Richard Teeuw Principal Lecturer
Dr Malcolm Whitworth Global Engagement Leader

Visiting Staff

Dr Pete Rowley Visiting Researcher
Dr Steve Sweetman Honorary Research Fellow
Dr Premachandra Wattage Visiting Research Fellow
Dr Mark Witton Honorary Research Fellow

Technical Staff

Zoe Whittaker Lead Technician
Emily Butcher Senior Technician
James Coyne Technical Manager
Joseph Dunlop Specialist Technician
Elaine Dyer Technician
Mr Richard Hing Technician
Geoff Long Senior Specialist Technician

Research Staff & PhD Students

Awwal Bamanga PhD Researcher
Nathan Barling PhD Researcher
Orla Bath-Enright PhD Researcher
Sarah Biejat PhD Researcher
John Bruce PhD Researcher
Glenn Castle PhD Researcher
Marco Fazio PhD Researcher
Stephan Gehne PhD Researcher
Luke Hauser PhD Researcher
Aminu Abdullahi Isyaku PhD Researcher
Namphon Khampilang PhD Researcher
Michael Larch PhD Researcher
Dr Mathias Leidig Visiting Researcher
Stephanie McCall PhD Researcher
Hugo Moreira PhD Researcher
Mohammed H. Nasser PhD Researcher
Ugonna Nkwunonwo PhD Researcher
Dr Anouska Panton Senior Research Associate
Martin Parham PhD Researcher
Konstantinos Papapavlou PhD Researcher
Rebecca Pearson PhD Researcher
Emily Roberts PhD Researcher
Ines Pereira PhD Researcher
Adam Taylor PhD Researcher
Holly Turner PhD Researcher
Steven Vidovic PhD Researcher
Natalia Walasek PhD Researcher & Course Administrator (Student Recruitment) for the Faculty of Science
Lee White PhD Researcher
Georgia Witton-Maclean PhD Researcher
Ayse Yildiz PhD Researcher

Professional Staff

David Arnold Finance Officer
Carol Gough Course Administrator
Susan Ridout Course Administrator
Michael Tyler Course Administrator
Janet Woodford School Manager