School of Film, Media and Communication


Head of School

Jane Chandler Head of School

Academic Staff

Dr Emma Austin Senior Lecturer (Film and Media)
Dr Trudy Barber Senior Lecturer (Media); Course Leader – BA (Hons) Media and Digital Practice; Admissions Tutor (Media)
Emma Beatty Senior Lecturer in Journalism
Rebecca Bellinger Teaching Fellow
John Caro Assistant Head of School; Principal Lecturer (Film and Media)
Rubia Dar Lecturer
Dr James Dennis Senior Lecturer in Political Communication and Journalism
Jenn Feray Senior Lecturer
Dr Laurel Forster Senior Lecturer (Media); Course Leader – MA Media and Communication
Dr Yael Friedman-Silver Senior Lecturer
Dr David Garland Senior Lecturer (Media); Level 4 Tutor (Media)
Dr Lincoln Geraghty Reader in Popular Media Cultures; Level 6 Tutor (Film)
Dr Alison Habens Senior Lecturer (Creative Writing); Course Leader, Creative Writing undergraduate courses; Level 6 Tutor (Creative Writing); Admissions (Creative Writing)
Dr Stephen Harper Senior Lecturer
Professor Sue Harper Emeritus Professor
Mr Ben Hodgson Senior Teaching Fellow
Neil Hunt Teaching Fellow
Dr Rebecca Janicker Senior Lecturer (Film and Media)
Calum Kerr Lecturer
David Kinnaird Senior Teaching Fellow
Searle Kochberg Principal Lecturer
Johnny Lochland Senior Lecturer
Dr Van Norris Senior Lecturer (Film and Media); Level 5 Tutor (Media)
Dr Steven O'Brien Senior Lecturer (Creative Writing); Course Leader, MA Creative Writing; Level 5 Tutor (Creative Writing)
Idil Osman Lecturer
Dylan Pank Senior Teaching Fellow
Claire Perry Interim Course Leader, Journalism
Evan Pugh Lecturer
Catharine Russell Senior Lecturer in Journalism
Zoe Sale Lecturer
Dr Susana Sampaio-Dias Senior Lecturer in Journalis; Study Abroad Coordinator
Bernie Saunders Senior Lecturer in Journalism
Dr Deborah Shaw Reader in Film Studies; Course Leader, MRes Creative Industries; School Research Degrees Coordinator
Lucy Shuttleworth Senior Lecturer (Creative Writing)
Professor Justin Smith Visiting Professor
Dr Graham Spencer Reader in Political Conflict
Jane Steventon Senior Lecturer
Dr Tom Sykes Senior Lecturer
Ian Tapster Principal Lecturer; Course Leader – BA (Hons) Journalism, BA (Hons) Journalism with Media Studies
Ben Thompson Principal Lecturer; Course Leader – BA (Hons) Film Production; Section Lead – Film and Broadcasting
Damian Toal Senior Lecturer
Charlie Watts Principal Lecturer; Course Leader – BSc (Hons) Television and Broadcasting
Steve Whitford Senior Lecturer
Mary Williams Associate Dean (Students), FHSS; Principal Lecturer, Journalism
Dr Sophia Wood Senior Lecturer (Media)
Gillian Wray Senior Teaching Fellow and Level 5 Year Tutor

Professional Staff

Cayleigh Arnold Course Administrator
Paula Heiron Course Administrator (Level 5 and MA Media & Communication)
Imogen Jeffery School Manager
David Ratcliffe Course Administrator (Level 6 and MA Creative Writing)