Overseas travel

Travel insurance


This insurance automatically covers all staff and students for emergency assistance while undertaking authorised visits involving travel outside England, Scotland and Wales on the business of the University. A summary of the insurance cover for staff and students can be downloaded:

1 August 2018 to 31 July 2019 Synopsis of travel insurance for University staff and students (.pdf)

  • Travel Insurance Policy Number: RTT306251

Should you wish to view the full policy wording, this can be downloaded using the links below:

  1. Travel Insurance policy wording‌ 01.08.18 to 31.07.19
  2. Travel insurance policy schedule 01.08.18 to 31.07.19

All travellers must register on our insurers travel advice website Drum Cussac and obtain a Country Report for the places being visited. You should also regularly check this website for security alerts for the country you are visiting in the run up to your trip.

Countries not covered by our insurance

Please note, we are not insured to travel to the following countries:

  • Iraq
  • Nigeria - Niger Delta and north of Abuja
  • Libya
  • Afghanistan
  • Mali
  • Somalia
  • Yemen
  • Syria
  • Cuba
  • North Korea
  • Iran

Please contact the University Insurance Officer for further information.  For certain countries, a business case may be required for travel to be considered - please download the template below and consult the University Insurance Officer for advice before proceeding:

If you are considering travelling to one of the following countries, you will need to complete a Travel Review Questionnaire for Sanctioned Territories, as each trip needs to be screened by our insurers on a case by case basis due to sanction restrictions:

  • Ukraine (Crimea and Sevastopol)
  • Russia
  • Syria
  • Sudan

LUPC Travel Insurance – Sanctions Guidance Note